Skip to main content

[1.6.1] Ask user whether to keep transactions when deleting a category

Currently, when a user deletes a category, all related transactions are also deleted (same for accounts, budget books, etc.). However, some users may not expect this behavior. Therefore, it might be a good idea to ask the user if they want to keep the transactions (but without the category).

Status: Completed2 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments2

  • Ilya

    •

    Nov 16, 2023

    I don't like the apps idea that filling the category is required to create a transaction.

    Sometimes I just don't remember what the transaction was for, when filling old transactions.

    I had to create a meta-category "Others" for these cases.

    It would be nice to be able to create transactions without a category. And it will also make the app able to delete a category without deleting its transactions.

    Also, it might be useful to be able to archive a category, like I can archive an account. Archived categories won't be shown while creating a transaction.

    • MidnightRocket

      •

      Jan 30, 2024

      I think the idea of archived categories is a great idea. It might even obsolete the need for a confirmation, if it is easy to restore an archived category.

      I think that achieving categories could be more useful, than “just” a confirmation of a delete.